Reminiscence of dearie’s proposal & our 1st Tokyo trip!

Currently watching 鱼跃在花见 on Funshion. Aiyo, I almost cough blood. Myolie is really irritating in the show, as in, her role. I definitely dont mean she’s irritating on a personal level. She always struck me as a very smart and humble lady. =)

The show is really a gastronomic adventure for Japanese cuisine lovers like me. Especially sashimi…..slurps! A gentle warning though, dont watch it with an empty stomach. It’s funny actually. Our Japan trip is finally confirmed on 7th-11th April and this show serves as a wonderful “appetizer”. I’m so looking forward to the trip. Will probably meet up with L in Tokyo if nothing goes wrong and I’m excited about her showing me all the shopping paradise and splendid Japanese sashimi!

To reminisce our previous Japan trip(half work/play, MDRT experience), below is an entry(not in full) copied from my previous blog. It served as a very sweet memory because dearie proposed during our 1st Japan trip. =)  Thus making this 2nd trip all the more meaningful now that we’re back re-visiting after 2 years of marriage. =) Oh it’s even the same season too, around APRIL with the sakura blossoms. Hope we can catch them though. Notice any difference in us? Definitely a difference in dearie. He gained more weight and looked more handsomeeeeee now huh. Haha. I definitely aged. =(  However, the pictures simply stirred my heart warmly. =D

**************************************************************************************

Wednesday, April 16, 2008

Konichiwa Japan

Hi Guys Im back!

I had mixed feelings yesterday when I reached Narita Airport for departure back home. I mean, it feels good to be back home where I can UNDERSTAND what people are talking and not looking like an idiot when 1 Jap after another mumbled a long string of Japanese to me without me understanding a single syllabus. On the other hand, it means the end of my holiday, unable to shop anymore, and back to the hard, cruel, realistic Singapore, where the lousiest customer service exists.

We flew by Northwest Airlines, flight at 6am on 10th April. Few hours before we left home, we were still packing our suitcases. Haha. Reached Changi Airport at 3.20am(as usual, dearie is very prudent) where we had..supper? Then we proceeded to check in at 4am. Northwest serves nice cabin meals, if you want to know, service pretty good also. Online booking flights within 24hrs can be done but make sure name is keyed correctly. They charged a US$10 for edit of wrong name on e-tickets.

Snoozed in the plane of course. When I woke up, dearie was nowhere to be seen. Before I even have the foggiest idea on what was happening, the crew announced, “Here is a special message dedicated to Fion….”

(-_-)”’

There came dearie’s singing…

明天我要嫁给你了
明天我要嫁给你了
要不是每天的交通都
烦扰着我所有的梦
明天我要嫁给你了
明天我要嫁给你了
要不是你问我
要不是你劝我
要不是适当的时候
你让我心动

“Dear ah! 我愿意用我的一生去爱你,去保护你,去照顾你,你原意嫁给我吗”

**********Applauses************

*blushed*

Finally he came towards me and grabbed the ring box on my food tray(geez I so disoriented that I didnt even realize it’s there) and proposed again after opening the ring box right there with the whole plane passengers looking on!

:

:

:

What else can I say but yes? Keke *blush blush*

********Applauses again********

Im very very surprised! Even though I expected a proposal coming in Japan but I never expected in this way! Again, he never fail to give me surprises. He reckoned I would never have expected it’s in the plane before we even reach Japan. Many colleagues congratulated me as well as acquaintances from my company taking the same place. So nice of them.

There was this male colleague, who offered a handshake after congratulating me, added, “Congrats! You’re not left on the shelf. Haha”

I couldnt quite get his joke as I feel getting married at age 25 is considered early already. For the past me, I will never get committed at this age. Hello! This is Singapore, not India lo. I must have looked damn perplexed. But I guess it’s considered pretty normal for me bah for mean remarks to come now and then because Im mean to people I dont like now and then too. Lol. Lalala. Who cares, so long so Im happy with the one I love. =)

(P/S Hmm….this goes to prove I’m really one who forgives and forget, because 2 years down the road now in 2011, I really cant recall who is this colleague! Haha. =)

Oh ya. For this trip, I dont know why many of the pictures turned out blurry even though they looked okay in the camera. =( So many cant post up. Anyway, cant post too much otherwise will take very long to load.

:


Reached Narita Airport in Tokyo at around 1+pm, app. 6 hours flight.

Upon reaching, I realised I forgotten to put in my memory card in my camera. How dumb can I get? Must be because I wanna delete off pictures in the card to have more memory and I left it in my laptop by mistake. I was so so sad. I deleted all pictures in my internal memory in order to take more pictures but the max they can store is around 10+. =( Many colleagues offered their SD cards but they’re all not compatible. Damn Sony for being so exclusive. Finally, after searching all his various memory cards, Larry came up with one 1GB SOny Memory stick! I was so grateful that I can kiss him on both cheeks!

:

 


Toyoko-Inn at Chiba. The room is small, but cosy and impossibly clean.

:

 


Quite the smallest toilet I’ve ever seen in hotels, however, still pretty equipped

.

As you would have known, accommodation is super expensive in Japan. Our room costs app. S$177 per day, shared by me and dearie. So for 5 days, its S$885 for both of us. Actually on day 4, we shifted to Toyoko-Inn at Shinjuku, still the same hotel but different branch so it looks totally the same. The only draw back would be the tv channels I reckon. They’re showing the same shows everyday! At least for the 5 days that we are there. Since we dont understand Jap shows, its “Ocean Thirteen” and “No Reservations” everyyyydayyyy. Thank god I like Catherine Zeta-Jones in “No Reservations”.

Day 1
By the time we settled down everything, dinner all that, cum traveling via walk+train, its around 7+pm when we reached Disney Sea. Traveling took alot of time. We didnt take cab because their cab fares have killer rates. Its around few hundred S$ for a journey of around 30minutes.

.

 


So cute. The train to Disney Sea was damm cute with mickey-mouse-shaped handles and windows.

.

 


Dearie and Larry acting cute.

.

Admission ticket costed S$44(3100yen). By the way, S$1=70yen. Good thing was that although the admission ticket was expensive, all the rides inside were free for you to take, so there’s no extra hidden costs.

.

.

 

.

Its Spring carnival and Disney Sea’s 25th Anniversary Eve! And they had celebrations with fireworks.

.

.

.

This view was totally enchanting. It’s as good or else better than what the camera captured.

.

Does this reminds you of Shakespeare’s Merchant In Venice or Midsummer Night’s Dream? It’s so Venetian style and romantic. Dearie and me took the Vienna Gondolas boat ride in the quay. Did I mentioned its raining at that time? Haha

.


Lovely splendor inside the gift shops

.


Their so-called House of Terror.

Dearie and me can never forget this. Eil, WJ and Larry enthusiastically encouraged us to go play it. “Its very very fun!” They echoed together.

We strolled in, to find a Japanese girl giving a story telling session beside a small statue which looked like those native african statues, hinting of mysterious power and magic. As we dont understand Jap, I can only guess the haunted story is about this statue which possessed evil power which subsequently lead to the death of somebody via accident in a elevator, as depicted by the outside of the haunted building.

After that ended, we went through a door where there’s another session of story-telling, which again we dont understand a single word. After which, we were being leaded up a staircase and told to take one of the seats in one which looked like a small theater. I thought its another story telling session again..before uneasiness crept into me when I saw seatbelts attached to the seats.

WHY MUST NEED SEAT BELTS???!!!

I was feeling very very eerie and suspicious already and felt like leaving the mini “theater” no matter how dearie might laugh at me for being such a chicken. But, he said, just wait and see. Okie. After the jap girl mumbled something; “&^$@#$%^&*$%^&, SAYONARA!”, suddenly a door jammed shut, closing the entire “mini theater”!!! Lights went off and it was so dark that I cant even see my fingers!!

Siao liao this time. I thought to myself. Okie nvm…then a small 3D screen appeared infront of us, just like a theater, albeit, the laser images projected were so 3D that they looked so real. Heng ah…so there’s another show being shown right here, just that its secluded and closed up, I thought. It showed a man being somehow cursed by the statue and disappeared. The statue disappeared shortly after too after its spine-chilling laughter.

Suddenly, the whole “mini theater” began to vibrate!! And it began to move violently!! Dearie still trying to console the frantic me, “Dont scared dont scared”. Then it began to descend slowly…before it shot up in lightning speed to the highest level of the building where we can clearly see the skies and outside! It stayed stagnant for 1 second before it plunged without a warning and hanged in mid air. Hovering for that 1 deadly second again, until it finally plunged full force downwards right to the ground!!

I tell you, I think dearie screamed even louder than me. =.=”” Or rather, we both screamed as if there’s no tomorrow. And its very embarrassing. Lol. Finally the door opened…and we staggered out on legs which felt like jelly.

We OLD already!! Cant take this kinda shock one!!

Day 2
We woke up early and departed to Makuhari Messe to register for our MDRT experience convention. Then, we went Meiji Shrine temple. Its very special such that we have to walk a very very very long way inside by foot then we can reach the temple. Its totally unaccessible by cars nor bicycles. I guessed it showed the sincerity. Unlike chinese Buddhist temples, there were no statue inside. Jap gods, I think there’s only some sort of amulet. It was fully blocked out to the common public and we were made to pray in like, 30m away. The whole group of us exited by the wrong exit and made a large detour back. My legs almost broke. We had dinner hurriedly and walked another few miles to shop a while at Harajuku, where burberry shop already closed. So disappointed.

Day 3
Seminar started as early as 9am. Ended around 5pm.

.

.

.

After which, Larry, dearie and me left separately for Ueno Park while the others went shopping at the cheap electronics first before they joined us later. We dont have any electronics to buy so we skipped that. We didnt regret. We have extra 1 and half hours to catch some nice pics at Tokyo Ueno-onshi-koen Park where there were still some full-blown sakura trees! We thought we’re unable to catch it since its already mid april.

.

.

.

.

This is not cherry blossoms(I think), but I love them more! I think they’re prettier. Currently checking on their identity. Looks like peony though.

After the others arrived, we shopped 1 and half hours more at Ueno Hirokoji, where we bought lotsa foodstuff. Most are guys’ stuff actually.

At night, we went and attended the special dinner which company arranged for us. The food was scarce and so-so but got free flow beer and sakae. The crowd went crazy. Stupid david borrowed my camera to take videos.

They kept force Andy and Gerrard to drink until they buay tahan. Lol. We had so much fun.

.


Andy and Gerrard so seh. Lol

Day 4
Seminar again. Then We shifted to Toyoko-Inn at Shinjuku and did shopping there. That’s where I bought our burberry blue labels and some clothes.

.


My Burberry buys

Day 5
Went Asakusa Kannon Temple at Asakusa, Lei Men. And shopped at Nakamise Shopping street where alot of traditional foodstuff were sold. After that, we went Ginza, shibuya, 109 building for more shopping. The shops closed as early at 8pm. What the fish manz.

.

.

Day 6
Around 4 hours to shop only as we’re preparing to depart already. Walked around in Shinjuku, lovely shopping there where I bought my best buys. Some went back to Ginza to buy somemore Burberry’s blue label. Haha.

In Japan, everything is so expensive. Things were at least doubly expensive, or else triple or even 10times more.

Clothings cost approximately around S$70 or more. That’s the normal pricing. For slightly better clothes, they can easily reach 10,000yen or more, meaning $140+. Honeydew costs around S$50 each, and watermelons S$70 each. Crazy! The cheapest meal of udon, via ticketing using vending machines and then redeeming it at the counter, will costs around 400yen which is around S$5.70. For slightly better meals, they will cost around S$14. Presentable foodstuff usually costs 800yen, 1000yen or more, which are more and S$10+. Their transportation single trip train tickets costs around S$4+ per trip on the average. Their Daiso stores sell good quality economic stuff, each costs S$1.50

Okie so what are cheaper there?

1) Burberry blue label
Only exclusive there, and cheaper than normal Burberry label.
2) Fake Eyelashes
3) Diamantes
4) Fancl

THAT’S ALLLLLLLLL!!!!!!

*Skipped pictures of my shopping*

**************************************************************************************

Awwwwww~ Cant wait to relive all of these!! =D

 

Leave a Reply

