My Weekend

Met up with darling Jy to kind of celebrate her birthday together with Kel. It was an impromptu decision because I wasnt sure I’m up to drinks yet. It was a lucky coincidence that Kel was available. Very difficult one okie, more difficult than striking toto. =P So we met up for some catching up, also to pass them 2011 calenders and diaries.

Ya I know I look so fat!! Eh no, I’ve becomeeeee so fat!! =(

Actually we had a group foto taken by someone else…but it was blurry. =(

We had our drinks as per usual, plus sotong balls and chicken wings. Ultra sinful. And of course, we treated the birthday girl. =) At this rate, there’s no way I can slim down lah. Maybe it’s better to diet after Chinese New Year, might as well right? Muahahahaha. =P

Happy birthday darling. You know we’ll always love you no matter what. =D Smuacks!!!

They’re planning to come our house on Chu 3, together with their partners and a few other friends. Or maybe a JB seafood trip too! To be confirmed. =)

****************************************************************************************

Saturday

After a meeting in office, went Orchard to get our printer/scanner/fax and iron. Dearie hor…..somehow stuff just seemed to get spoilt when he’s using it! I just dont understand why! And he always deny responsibility, saying if things bound to be spoilt will be spoilt. =|  I granted that my Epson 5 year old printer’s time should be up but the iron was merely 1+year old! It wasnt really spoilt lah, just that there were some black debris on it and it stained dearie’s shirts. When I asked him how the debris got there to stain his clothes, again he cant answer me. ZzZz. And we cant get off those debris. Err….now that I think of it, were we too impulsive when we just bought another new iron? Nahz, anyway, we bought a Tefal one…and hopefully it’s good. New printer/scanner/fax is from HP.

Because of the stupid S$5 voucher which we drew from the Courts Lucky Draw(must be used on the same day!), ultimately we ended up buying…………….

CORNELL CBG5

PAN GRILL / STEAMBOAT (1500 W)

Hee!! Actually I bio this very long liao. Just that we already had another steamboat cum teppanyaki. Anyway, that was at mummy’s house as it was big and round, more suitable for big group on a round table. I particularly disliked the teppanyaki round surface because it was very narrow. This new one is so much better! See how spacious is the teppanyaki area! Now I no longer have to keep shifting my food and able to keep a better eye on them. =)
:
Today(sunday), we went NTUC and bought food back, intending to have a steamboat dinner. I marinated the chicken breast and beef slices for 2 hours and they turned out great! For the chicken, I merely used salt, sugar, light soy sauce, pepper and sesame oil. For the beef, I used salt, sugar, yakinuku sauce and black pepper. =) Didnt really had a variety of food because NTUC is so boring. =(  I love our bratwurst sausage though! Super yummy. =)
:
:

Review of CORNELL CBG5

PAN GRILL / STEAMBOAT (1500 W)

It’s really perfect for 2 person! Comes with a 2.3litre pot. With the temperature mode from minimum and then 1 to 5, the steamboat part actually get heated up pretty quickly. Soup can boil in less than 10minutes. In my recollection, it boils much faster than the one I always had. Though if you want it to be faster, you can always fill it with boiling water/soup instead.
:
Although the temperature knob controls both steamboat and pan grill, it didnt pose much of a problem. The trick is to boil the water first with the highest temperature before dumping your ingredients in. After 45minutes or so, then kickstart your teppanyaki dinner by lowering the temperature to around 3. In this way, the soup will have a nice simmer and it wont be too hot for the grill. Your soup will have a better flavour too. =)
:
If for some reason, you dont need the steamboat anymore, you can remove the pot and use the area for teppanyaki too. It will then be sufficient for 4 people to grill. Haha! Dearie and me are more of teppanyaki than steamboat people la. =P
:
What I love the most with this appliance will be the ease to wash and clean! Usually it will a herculean chore to scrub the chao-da(burnt) part off the grill surface. But for this, you can easily wipe off them with disposable kitchen towels. Somehow they will simply flake off very easily, which is marvelous! It might be because of their special grill non-stick surface or something. It’s really great! What’s more, there’s a hole on the grill surface, and that’s actually for you to sweep all the chao-da parts into it. Into where you think? Below it, you can pull out a mini tray and then you can simply throw the waste into the trash bin! Brilliant isnt it! So not only you dont have scrub that hard for the burnt parts, you dont even have to pick them up. Simply sweep them away will do! Of course you still have to wash them with detergent afterwards, but it will be a breeze. =)
:
Do note it’s easier to clean when it’s warm rather than wait until it’s cool.
:

Courts member price: S$62, after S$5 voucher = S$57

:

Wee!! Definitely will be expecting more steamboat and teppanyaki dinner at home!! Hmm yeah, it got a little smokey after a while. We onz both aircon, fan and kitchen hood with all windows open to make sure we’re not too hot and no smoky smell remained. I really love my Rinnai kitchen hood. Although it costs a bomb(to me), it’s definitely worth the money! Because we have an open concept kitchen, a good hood is very very important. I remember it has a 1000m3/hr extraction capacity. If anyone want the model number can message me.

:

After buying all the electronics at Courts Centrepoint with some shopping and dinner, we met up with some friends for movie. =)

:

 

Movie title: Shaolin

Ratings: 4/5

Comments: It was a pretty touching but rather bloody show. Hmm…many scenes made me uneasy with the cruel ways of killing…..there were many scenes which made me cry too. I guess there are many lessons where you can learn from it but I’m not going to preach here. You can watch it if you want. But it’s not a movie where I’ll watch for the second time though. Maybe because there’s not many funny scenes. It’s all kill kill kill………….ZzzZzz.

Actually it’s been very long that I do movie reviews, always forgot about them after watching. =P “Fair Game” sucks, dont watch okie. =P

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

