My Dearest QQ

Love the Dec weather, chilly and cooling. Although it’s still pretty warm in the daytime, the night was simply bliss with cool cool breeze coming through our windows. Sometimes it’s so strong that it can slap my windows shut with a loud thud or send my chandelier rocking back and forth. Thank god it doesnt happen that often. I do hate if my chandelier come crashing down.

It’s such a lovely night again. It’s such a waste to sleep it away…. Sometimes I really enjoy time to myself, doing my own things(manyyyy things at one time). Haha. And I’m especially alert at night, to my dismay. I enjoy more when my favorite activities are done at night.

*ahem* Please dont think YY.

I meant, hobbies like blogging….reading(oh yes I do read okieee~)…surfing…watching dramas, variety shows and concerts. Currently watching my darling Jam Hsiao’s newly bought concert DVD. Heez~

Wanna share our lovely purchase!!

猜猜是什么? Hee!


Everything when I received parcels, I always got soooOoo excited but this time round, my excitement was x 100 times because it’s the first time I ordered something(alone) which costs a 3 digit figure online. And I’m super worried that it disappoints me.

:

:

Dang dang dang dang!!

:

:

:

My CleanMate QQ-2L, Robot Vacuum Cleaner

I shall refer it to my dearest QQ from now on. =D

Robot vacuum cleaners had been around for quite some time and I’m sure many people will love one at home but merely hesitated at the price, for authentic i-robots Roomba usually costs a 4 digit. Freaking expensive! Another downside is, they cant clean corners well.

I was initially very doubtful of it’s capability when I first heard it from Gra, whose colleague had bought it off online at only US$208. Though the one she bought was an imitation where the set was made in China, and computer chip in Germany. I wasnt enthu because I’m sure it cant clean very well, especially along walls and corners. And manz, how many dozens of corners we have in our house? However, Gra said perhaps I can use it on a daily basis to keep the house reasonably clean while I can have a 大扫除 every week or so. Suddenly the idea seemed so attractive. Because Vickki is indeed a pest who always make the house dirty.

I wasnt disappointed. It was indeed well worth every penny! How I love the free shipping too! Think of it, it’s like only 50 bucks more than our normal Philips vacuum cleaner!

:

Front

:

:
Back
:
:
Remote
:
:
Charging
:
:
Charging Bay
:
:

Features:

  • Automatically cleans carpets
  • User friendly LCD panel displays unit operation status
  • Automatically returns to charging base when low on power
  • Resumes cleaning after battery is fully charged
  • Compact shape allows cleaning under beds, tables, and other furniture
  • Suitable for all carpets except for plush and long fur carpet
  • Removes allergens and pet hair
  • Automatic cruise system
  • UV ray disinfection
  • Particle filtration
  • High efficient 7 inch brushroll
  • Embedded remote control
  • Sounds warning alarm when stuck
  • Photo sensor detects stairs to avoid falling down
  • Noise level: 50dB
  • 10 to 80 minute variable cleaning time
  • Timer for cleaning time setting
  • NiMH 2500 mAh battery
  • 3.5 hours charging time
  • Lifetime of battery: 500+ charging cycles
  • Built-in fragrance slot
  • Rotating edge cleaning brush
  • 2.5 amps
  • 6 lbs.
  • Capacity of dust bin: 0.3 liter
  • Dimensions: 14 inches (diameter) X 3.5 inches (height)
  • One year warranty

Cleaning Modes:

  • Special bounce
  • Spiral
  • Along walls
  • “S” shape
  • Polygonal spiral
  • Cycles through all modes for highly efficient cleaning

Accessories Included:

  • Remote control
  • 3 washable particle filters
  • 14.4 volt rechargeable battery
  • AC charging base
  • Small cleaning brush
:
:
My Review:
It cleans reasonably well, much better than expected. You definitely cant expect 100% because some corners will definitely be left out. However, I’m quite surprised it cleans pretty well along walls using the along-the-wall mode. Perhaps because of the little brush located near the right edge of the set. At first glance, only the S-shape mode and along-the-walls mode seemed useful but that is only true for square rooms and preferable almost no or very few furnitures. For big areas with furnitures, it’s good to take it’s auto mode(combination of all 5 modes) to clean more efficiently. I know it can look a tad irritating when it doesnt go the way you prefer all the time or it merely clean 1 small area and hop off to another. But give QQ her freedom, she will eventually finish cleaning up the whole area. =)
:
:
To save some time and battery, you can always use the remote to manually control it by making it turn left/right/forward/reverse to clean missed out areas which wasnt focused yet but do note it only cleans when it’s moving forward. And every touch of left/right button, it turns a fixed degree of angle. For manual mode, it stops whenever it meets an obstacle, while during auto mode, it will switch directions itself. So usually if I really want to clean neglected areas immediately, I will use manual mode but followed by auto mode.
:
:
QQ did have a downside, which is I feel she cant recognise her “home”(charging bay) very well. She must be relatively near, like within 30cm or so before she knows how to go “home”. Lol. If not, she will use “along-the-wall” mode all the way until she finds her “home” since her “home” is definitely along the walls. Hahaha! Kinda waste time and batt. So either I will carry her back to near her “home” or “manually” direct her back. Therefore, I’m very doubtful of the mentioned function; 

  • Automatically returns to charging base when low on power
  • Resumes cleaning after battery is fully charged

Hmmm…………………………………………………………..她不会回家!!!

Anyway, supervision is definitely required or preferred. It got stucked at the edges of my coffee table and tv console(due to their design) and must be manually pulled out. Sometimes it get stucked in corners too, unable to turn out. There is the timer feature but haven tried it out. Dont think it’s necessary. I have to say the remote works pretty well. So long so you’re pointing at the signal panel located infront of QQ(it’s not difficult since QQ is always moving and rotating), the distance dont matter. I’ve used it from as far as 5-6metres and QQ still can detect.

Luckily for our small home of 100sq m, it’s just nice for the battery life. For bigger homes, you might need to charge it again before resuming cleaning. By the way, I’m very thankful for the elaborate instruction manual in ENGLISH, in good English. And the set arrived with battery and filter installed. Even the remote comes with battery installed. It feels great!

All in all, I’m pleased with it. Last time I got so exhausted with both vacuuming and mopping right after one another. The day before, I used QQ to vacuum the floor and it was really pretty clean. So I merely use a wet mop(除尘纸拖把-wet) to mop some dirty areas plus all the corners and along the walls. Took me less than 10minutes. =D The floor was very clean.

I definitely can look forward to more personal time!

Feel free to ask me for more questions. =)

 

 

Leave a Reply

