女人最痛 (Beauty Knows No Pain)

Something kinda funny happened just seconds ago.

Seated on my bed, I was bending half my body down, stretching out my hand to retrieve the laptop charger on the floor. Then, obviously my hand is too short and I over-stretched and I almost toppled all the way face down together with my lappy and smelly blanket. =P Thank god!

Just finished this 20 episodes series and I really like it very much.

It started off as a comedy and began more engaging as the typical HK twist style of deceit came in. It got more intense as the show continues. I like it because the story is very unique and is something we modern ladies can relate to in this 21st century.

If you haven watch, you can view it at pipi.cn. I’m sure you will be hooked! I always view the Cantonese version and I tell you, especially for this show, you have to watch it in Cantonese(there are chinese subtitles anyway) because it’s so much funnier!

SPOILER ALERT!!! (Dont scroll down if you hate spoilers)
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
The story depicts mainly the rivalry of sales among 3 brand managers, Jackie(张可颐), Noble(米雪) and Angela, in a cosmetic company and also the friendship between Jackie, Noble and Bibi(滕丽名) as well as their love life;

Jackie(张可颐) – Ambitious, aggressive, impulsive, despicable, selfish, unscrupulous.
Always want to win at all costs and expanse, even if it means hurting her close friends and fiancé.

Had an adoring fiancé Nick(马德钟) who loves her for who she is, constantly accommodates and supports her mentally. However, he disapproved her unscrupulous ways and was constantly trying to make amends to people she let down, e.g, Bibi and Noble.

Noble(米雪) – Nurturing, magnanimous, good-natured, loyal and with integrity.

Had a miscarriage when her bastard hubby had an affair years ago and subsequently still tried to conceive. When she was finally pregnant, she discovered her hubby had betrayed her once again by committing adultery. Finally filed for divorce but bastard husband threatened for custody of baby.

Bibi(滕丽名) – Innocent, naive, self-sacrificing, loyal and forgiving

Started out as a big-nose-and-breasted secretary who was a doormat to all people, especially to her boyfriend. Eventually broke off because boyfriend hooked up with another girl. Subsequently had plastic surgery and grew to fame. Grown to love her manager who used to be at loggerheads with her and equally in love with her.

These 3 ladies have 1 thing in common that is, they’re independent, career-minded, modern women who are passionate in their jobs while at the same time, they have to juggle their love lives as well. As for Noble, she even have to deal with pregnancy and betrayal of hubby at the same time.

Some thoughts after watching

1) During the 1st few episodes, Noble cant really blame Jackie for usurping her position in the company. She can only count herself unlucky that her stupid bastard hubby chose that moment to have affair, thus making her flustered and made mistakes in work. With absolutely no mood to salvage the work crisis, it’s no doubt that the enthusiastic Jackie got her position and it doesnt look like it’s plotted too.

2) Ever since Jackie usurped Noble’s position, she got more and more ambitious and resorted to more unethical means. It undoubtedly make me grew very disgusted of her. Her perfect excuse, “I never know things will become like that, this serious!” Rubbish. The fact is she never thought of the negative impact to other people so long so she attained her objective in work. It irked me how can Nick stomach her, who was such a scheming, lying, you know~

3) Noble’s hubby, who was so caring and loving to Noble can get so heartless and merciless after Noble insisted on divorce and keeping their child upon discovering his affair. In dramas(and sometimes real life), we always see how the hubbies want the kids and NOT the spouses. It’s ironic when I thought of myself and dearie. Because he wants the spouse but NOT any child. Haha. Of course, it’s totally different scenario but I just thought it’s funny. =P

Anyway, I recognize the fact that guys can get totally heartless after their feelings are gone. Totally~

4) In real life, there are people like Jackie who can repeatedly use their friends for her own gains and there are also noble people like Nick, Nobel and Bibi who can forgive and forgive again. I can be extremely tolerant and accommodating to friends, sometimes to the extent that I close 1 eye where small gains are concerned. But as you know, accumulating small gains can snow-ball to pretty HUGE gains and they do take a toll on me. It was dumb of me to think that one day I can be appreciated and I can be treated with sincerity. Well, the day when my heart died after countless batter is also the day my closed eye re-opened. That’s when I realized what a fool I was. But well, never too late to regain eye-sight I guess.

I remembered a friend mentioned before,

You give and expect NOTHING in return, from friends or anyone. If you do, you are only being nice with a “motive” and it’s not sincere”

To make myself clear here, I DO NOT EXPECT ANYTHING IN RETURN when I’m being nice to ANYONE. If there’s something which I expect, that is I expect to be appreciated. I dont know if people think that is being greedy or having an ulterior motive, but common, naturally if I’m being nice to anyone, I do hope I can be appreciated isnt it?

Anyone who treat people nice DONT expect to be appreciated?? Wow, you must be a saint.

When I mean “appreciated”, I meant there should be some sort of reciprocation. It need not be monetary but it must be of sincerity. For example, if I love that manicure of yours, I will appreciate when you take time to check the contact number to revert back to me. Things like that. Not all things must be measured by money.

There was once when I was speechless when presented with a birthday pressie like 3months after my birthday. =.=””

It was such a hilarious moment because I was shocked and said, “Huh?!! My birthday pressie?? Next year one huh? Muahahahaha”

Actually, it’s from a friend who probably felt erm…paiseh? Because I gave her birthday pressie while she didnt give me any because my birthday month is earlier than her and has passed? Aiya, actually it’s okie one lah. =) I dont mind at all.

Just so you know, even when I give birthday pressies, I dont expect any in return, especially when I know there is no way anyone can turn back time and give me when my birthday had passed longgggg agoooo. But well, I still appreciate that, belated better than nothing! =)

I always have a thing for pressies. I’m a kid at times and they touches my heart everytime. =D Different friends have different cultures. Some friends give birthday pressies while some dont. But those who dont certainly dont mean they treat you lesser than a friend. That being said, of course those who GIVE are more wu xim lah!
=P

Well well, there are alot of factors as to how you define a friend or buddy. Actually if you care to come up with a checklist, it’s definitely possible.

But JUST like LOVE, sometimes, friendship is more than a mere check list.

You’re a friend, or not, you just know. =D

Leave a Reply

