Peony Jade Clarke Quay Disgusting Experience

Actually I dont mean to blog about this as I dont wish to get myself upset, all over again. I was real boiling mad when it happened. However, since I’m in a pretty good mood now and I thought I can give some warning to my friends; here’s a relater of our, or rather my awful experience with Peony Jade @ Clarke Quay.

Okie. The story began when I was aware that the Mooncake Festival is nearing. And I got this craving for Peony Jade’s delicious snowskin liqueur mooncakes. It was my regret last year that I didnt buy more than 1 box of their Mini Snowskin Kwai Fei Lychee-tini and Ganache Mooncake(迷你冰皮荔枝巧克力月饼). I remembered it was so good that we subsequently went in search for more, but was sadly disappointed when they were all sold out island-wide.

So this year, I ordered 4 boxes of it with 1 box of
Mini Snowskin Champagne Truffle and Ganache Mooncake(迷你冰皮香槟巧克力月饼) as I yearned to try. Yeah after you’re married, you’ll realised every festive goodies which you buy, you need to buy 2 more sets. One for own mother side, the other for mother-in-law side. Haha. I made a call and was instructed to order online paying with OCBC card to enjoy 20% discount. We promptly went down to Clarke Quay for dinner as well as collection.

Since we’re there, I thought we might as well settle for dinner there and then. We took alfresco seating and were very pleased with the service. They were really attentive and showed no partiality to the foreigners over us. We were, afterall, at Clarke Quay.

We ordered Scallops with broccoli, Black Pepper Crayfish(live seafood), 2 rice as well as a bowl of sharkfin. Too hungry to snap pictures though frankly speaking, they dont look atheistically pleasing lah.

The small bowl of sharkfin was not bad but not fantastic. It tasted more like well-brewed chicken soup than sharkfin soup. However, the sharkfin amount were quite sufficient.

The scallops and broccoli with egg white can use more salt actually. Portion was actually very satisfactory but broccoli can actually be more tender and more ingredients can be used. The dish practically only contained scallops and broccoli, nothing else.

Last came the black pepper crayfish. Our saliva were already dripping while it made it’s grand appearance. Again, no garnish no nothing, just the crayfish. Maybe it’s Peony Jade’s style huh, their dishes just look plain. The black pepper was fragrant and very appetizing. After I pryed out the meat, was bringing it to my lips when I smelled something very……..weirdly familiar………..The faint smell further escalated to pungent, shocking URINE smell the moment my lips touched the meat.

HORROR!! I recoiled back with terror and thought it might be my nose playing tricks on me. So I smelled it again. But this time round, there’s no mistake of the urine smell.

If it’s the normal me, I would have turned the tables.

No lah kidding. Perhaps, loose a tirade on the service staff by speaking louder than normal. But because the service staff were so nice, I told her about the urine smell with my normal tone of voice. She was seriously apologetic and said she will revert back.

While we were waiting(presumably for a new serving), I was wondering how the urine smell might have came about.

Then I finally understood why.

If you’re someone who’s familiar with cooking live seafood, I’m sure you’ll know there’s a need to release the urine(放尿) of the seafood you’re cooking, washed them properly before you tossed them into the wok. For live huge prawns, crayfishes, lobsters, it’s essential that you have to 放尿 before cooking.

I’ve seen how it was done before at 美女厨房 but forgot which episode. I’ll update here if I’ve found it.

Here’s the Baidu model answer:

Q: 烹制龙虾之前如何给龙虾放尿?

A: 烹制龙虾之前的“放尿”过程:让虾腹朝下,再扳起尾部,用一只筷子从近尾叶的底端插入其体内,再抽出筷子,会随着排出一道有异味的液体;如不去除,会影响其味的。
其实不但要给它放尿,还要剔去它的屎肠(或称沙线),此是藏污纳垢部分,隐藏很多致病微生物,不小心吃下去很容易闹病。

This is a vitally important step before cooking any live seafood to prevent any spilling of urine by the poor creature before it was dumped live into the boiling wok.

Arrgghhhhh Suddenly I feel so sinful. =(

Of course, not every seafood got urine in their bladder when you cook it. So if that important step was being forgotten, it really have to depend on your luck whether the poor thing has a full bladder.

I guessed I’m real suay lor.

Finally we had a reply. Another waiter came forward and said, “the chef had tasted the crayfish and said there is nothing wrong with the crayfish and he said you might be allergic? Would you like a new serving or would you like to choose other dishes?”

ALLERGIC??!!” I couldnt believe my ears!!

Dearie, as usual, in his good-natured tone said, “we’re not allergic to crayfish, it’s not the first time we have it.”

Then he turned to me, “So how, you want to ask him to cook again or wanna choose other dishes?”

I was obviously boiling with anger as it’s so obvious it’s the chef’s negligence and he got the cheek to ask me whether I’m allergic! And for your info, my nose works SO WELL and I dont even have sinus okie!”

And SO, I related the above, in slightly different words, in a more amiable tone to the waiter. Because afterall, it’s not his fault and he has been very polite and apologetic. It’s the F* chef who needs a kick in the ass However, it was too late for me to be able to do anything as the “evidence” was already now with the “murderer”. We did not order any other dishes for my mood AND appetite were thoroughly, cruelly SPOILT!

After settling the bill, nope, not even a discount was given for the poor food, we went upstairs to collect our chilled mooncakes. And I started to complain to Francis, the supervisor or something about the disgusting experience. I really thought he will do something since he was pretty friendly when he showed us to the table.

But no, his face immediately changed colour and said he will speak to the chef and will call me the next day.

Nope. He didnt call, not that it matters too. Because he can jolly say he fired the chef OR even better yet, murdered him and cooked him in curry and nobody will know whether it happened or not.

I had realised there’s nothing I can do but merely wish to rant it out. Hey you know how gross it is to eat something which smells like urine?? Have you?? I havent, in my 2X years of life!! What else can beat it? Lousy service, lousy food, stale food?? At least your food dont have urine in it okie!

In the car, I asked dearie, “Do you know what I’ve done wrongly just now?”

As usual, he dont know lah.

I said;

“I should have demanded the chef or at least the manager to come out and smell the crayfish right away IN PUBLIC and NEVER should I allow them to carry the crayfish away.”

As much as how shrewish that might be, I’m protecting myself from being maligned as a freaky, “allergic to crayfish” customer with a blocked nose.”

I would have done that there and then but I didnt.

Just because all the staff had great service, I stupidly assume the chef will be as well, admitting his mistake and be apologetic, so the naive me tried to be nice and accommodating, laid low about the unacceptable food and allow myself to be addressed as “allergic”, and “stupid”.

I totally threw away any chance of myself getting a redress of grievance.

So here’s an important lesson for you.

If you EVER experience the same real awful experience like me(small small thing dont like that hor please), PLEASE REMEMBER;

1) Never allow them to take away the dish

2) If you can manage, complain in a slightly louder voice, it works best when other customers are around.

3) Be fierce and thick-skinned okie, you have to demand compensation, that’s only being fair to your stomach. A discount or complimentary meal is only REASONABLE.

Well, if you want to be NICE and not a MEAN chillipadi like me, then good luck. I pray you meet all the nicest people on earth everyday, everywhere at any time.

I rather 先小人后君子. The almost-only rare time where I’m “nice”, I’m being bullied.

Hng! Still better to be a chilli padi afterall.

And well, just be careful where you’re eating your live seafood too.

3 Responses to Peony Jade Clarke Quay Disgusting Experience

  1. Melissa says:

    Your shark fin soup tasted like chicken broth because that’s what it’s made with. Shark fin has no taste and no nutritional value. It’s also horribly unsustainable and a wretched practice. I respectfully encourage you to do a little research and educate yourself about where the food in your bowl comes from and how it gets there. Thank you.

    • Chilli Padi says:

      Arent you a little bo-liao to nitpick the issue with the sharkfin when the real concern is about the badly prepared crayfish?
      *faints*
      Anyway, while blogging about this post, I already knew some people might feel a tad hostile about us having the sharkfin
      as I knew it’s considered a cruel act to the creature. Although it’s totally not necessary to tell you nor to ease you, I still wish to clarify that we dont eat sharkfins ALL THE TIME. More like a once in a blue moon thingy. However, that doesnt mean I approve of the way the sharks were being cut off of their fins and threw back into the sea. I sincerely do hope that practice can be restrained.

      That being said, since I’m not a saint nor a nun nor a vegetarian, nor are you my mother, daughter or sister, I see no point that you’re here lecturing me on enjoying food which I enjoy, on my blog. For god’s sake, it’s not as if I’m encouraging people to consume it.
      As for the taste, I certainly do not like my sharkfin soup to taste like chicken broth. If so, I might as well cook it myself. I will prefer it to be the usual “sharkfin” taste which I enjoy at wedding dinners. It’s merely my own preference, you get it?

      I simply cant help laughing with your sentence, “I respectfully encourage you to do a little research and educate yourself about where the food in your bowl comes from and how it gets there.” Yes yes, I’m SO glad I truly know where and how the food in my bowl comes from. Hey, must I know how it’s prepared, how it’s cooked, with what seasoning, before I can blog about my experience? HAHAHA. So funny lor. Does that mean people with lesser knowledge about the above mentioned CANNOT enjoy them? Does that mean if my 70year old granny dont know how Peking Duck or foie gras is prepared, she cant eat nor comment whether she like or not?

      Common lah. Get a life.

      Still, thank you for dropping by, as much as your comment is pretty redundant and bo-liao. Lol. It does perks me up. And I’m SO grateful such kind souls like you who cares so much about how the food comes about in your bowl, exists. I strongly encourage you to lead a campaign in Singapore, specially targeting hotels and restaurants as they’re the main culprits! That is certainly more effective than leaving a comment in a low-traffic blog for an entry which is more targeted on the issue of badly prepared and urine-tasted live seafood.

      Kambatte! *salutes*

  2. Pingback: Great buys from JB « Little Chilli-Padi

Leave a Reply

