TVB 42ND ANNIVERSARY AWARDS 2009 – my votes

The whole list of nominations are here.

I cant say I’ve watched all the serials but pretty much 80% of them. And even if I didnt finish the entire series for some, I did catch some glimpses of it.

My votes!!

Top 5 Best Actor
Bowie Lam – The Gem of Life
Wayne Lai – Rosy Business
Dayo Wong – You’re Hired
Ray Lui – Born Rich
Gallen Lo – Born Rich

Best Actor: Wayne Lai – Rosy Business

Fully in support of Wayne. His acting was remarkable in 巾幗梟雄 and I think many will agree with me. Ray might be a formidable opponent. Moses Chan dont have very good roles to act this year. Dayo has improved ALOT. I always view him as one of the few in TVB who cant act. Lol. But I still like him because he’s so funny! I’m glad that he has vast improvement and hopefully he has more dramas. Gallen is his usual, fantastic in the evil roles. But people tend to expect MORE from you when they’re used to seeing the best from you. He had clinched the Best Actor award for 3 times in TVB history, the maximum number of times among all. Like Bowie, I feel people will want a break through from them to get them votes again.

Top 5 Best Actress
Ada Choi – The Gem of Life
Sheren Tang – Rosy Business
Anita Yuen – Born Rich
Jamie Chik – Born Rich
Kenix Kwok – Born Rich

Best Actress: Jamie Chik – Born Rich

Sheren might be a close competitor too.
Actually I’m very biased towards my idols Ada and Anita, I wish they can hug the awards instead. Haha! But Jamie’s role in Born Rich is truly touching. Her acting was superb as well, considering she just made a come-out not long in so many years. And usually a ditched wife role will gain more votes.

Ada’s and Anita’s roles might hug the most favorite roles instead. Or maybe that’s what I hope. Haha!

Oh! Tavia in Beyond the Realm of Conscience 宮心計 is a hot favorite as well in all the forums. It doesnt come as surprising as the role was really made to clinch the best actress; an evil concubine. In my humble opinion, Tavia was good in that role but not outstanding. She’s much better in the Moonlight Resonance which got her the best supporting actress. But again, all this are determined by votes and sometimes popularity does counts. Oh, please dont mention about Charmaine. Putting my revulsion for her aside, I have to admit she is not some pretty vase but one with real acting capabilities. However, her role in 宮心計 is really too too too bland! There wasnt many opportunities for her to stand out. If she really got the award hor, then it shows it’s truly a VERY biased system. Haha.

TVB female artistes are indeed much more competitive than the males…it’s difficult to guess who might get in top 5. Maggie Siu and Gigi Lai were both equally good in The Gem of Life 珠光寶氣. However, Maggie’s role is not as outstanding as Ada who starred as Jessica. Also, I guess it’s time that people are sick of Gigi’s tears, as Constance. It’s just so her, her typical acting. It’s good but I think, like Gallen and Bowie, she need a breakthrough to get the best actress again since her last one in 2004.

無綫電視 《萬千星輝頒獎典禮》歷屆最佳男女主角得主
男主角
1997年 羅嘉良 | 1998年 羅嘉良 | 1999年 古天樂 |
2000年 歐陽震華 | 2001年 古天樂 | 2002年 羅嘉良 |
2003 郭晉安 | 2004年 林保怡 | 2005年 郭晉安 |
2006年 鄭嘉穎 | 2007年 陳 豪 | 2008年 夏 雨

女主角
1997年 關詠荷 | 1998年 蔡少芬 | 1999年 宣 萱 |
2000年 鄭裕玲 | 2001年 汪明荃 | 2002年 陳慧珊 |
2003 張可頤 | 2004年 黎 姿 | 2005年 汪明荃 |
2006年 佘詩曼 | 2007年 李司棋 | 2008年 米 雪

Since we’re here, my guesses for the other awards;

Best supporting actor:
Sweetness in the Salt 碧血鹽梟 – Raymond Wong 黃浩然
OR
Rosy Business 巾幗梟雄 – Pierre Ngo 敖嘉年

Hmm I cant decide between the 2.

Best supporting actress:
Rosy Business 巾幗梟雄 – Susan Tse 謝雪心
OR
The Gem of Life 珠光寶氣 – Linda Chung 鍾嘉欣

Cant decide between this 2 too.

Favourite Male Character:
Rosy Business 巾幗梟雄 – Wayne Lai 黎耀祥

But I wonder if Michael Miu or Kevin Cheng might get it. They have so many fans manz.

Favourite Female Character:(Like I said, in a very biased way, haha)
The Gem of Life 珠光寶氣 – Ada Choi 蔡少芬
OR
Born Rich 富貴門 – Anita Yuen 袁詠儀

But on a unbiased note, Tavia 楊怡 in Beyond the Realm of Conscience 宮心計 might get it.

This year is indeed super competitive. Tough luck.

Most improved actor:
->refer to Best Supporting actor

Most improved actress:
-> cant comment because I dont know most of them! Or rather, I forgot their roles.

Best Drama:
My votes for top 3 nominations
Born Rich 富貴門
Rosy Business 巾幗梟雄
The Gem of Life 珠光寶氣

My vote for Best Drama: Rosy Business 巾幗梟雄

Best Variety Show:
Club Sparkle 星星同學會

Most popular artiste:
Tavia Yeung 楊怡

She is damn hot this year!

That’s all!

Leave a Reply

