猜灯谜! Lantern Festival

Yesterday, that was, 2 hours ago, was such an eventful day. Dearie and me went to Hui’s house. It was the day for me to finally pass my birthday pressie to Hui and also to collect my full wedding videos from Tracy, my wonderful videographer.

The bulky pressie was actually the portable vacuum cleaner which I adored. I think it’s wonderful hence got 1 for Hui. We all watched the videos together and I’m truly amazed once again by how meticulous and creative Tracy is. She really spent ALOT of work and time on our videos, it’s eloquent. I’m really really very thankful and have to applaud her awesome after-sales services. If anyone is interested to get her as their wedding videographer or to…*blush* see our videos, can just drop me a message. Hee. She is definitely more than what you have asked for and value for money.

Speaking of which, dont know where the hell my photographer MIA when he still owed us a coffee table album and doesnt even care to call us to make appointment. Humph! Collect money liao then like that hor! Wait will I get him next week. *mean look*

Our whole wedding video was divided into like 8 segments and came up to around 1hour plus. Perhaps it’s our own video and we’re someone Hui and Tracy can relate too, we were laughing all the way and dont find it lengthy. Dearie especially loves the video-ed basketball game because it made him look especially heroic with the flashy basketball moves and nice goals. Initially I was feeling confused why Tracy wished to video a boring basketball game(well it looks boring to me mah!) but when I saw the final product, Tracy, you are amazing. =)

We went off at around 6+pm to have dinner with my mother-in-law and brother-in-law. Father-in-law(FIL) was at Esplanade solving lantern riddles. So fun! We ordered Punggol Delivery, free delivery above $50 of order. It wasnt very satisfactory. 2.5kg of chilli crab, 500g of cereal prawns, medium sambal kangkong and 8 fried mantou came up to $148, including GST. Stupid government. Initially the lady on the phone told me it’s possible to swipe OCBC for that 15% discount even for delivery, after the delivery man arrived, they insisted I heard wrongly. TMD! I did double confirm was it available for delivery one okie.

Anyway, the chili crabs were not flavourful enough. Not spicy enough, too sweet and oily for my liking, however, they have HUGE CLAWS. 1 is enough to get me munching for 20minutes. =D Cereal prawns were not crispy and fragrant enough, perhaps the crispy cereal got damp during delivery. =( They said the kangkong sucks, so I didnt try. Think the vege became “old” when they arrived all the way from East Coast to Jurong. Man tou is not badddd lo…but was much bigger and harder than what I’ve expected. It was a meal enough for 6 pax, came up to around $25 per pax. But..dont know..it’s just not very satisfactory…or is it we really have to dine there to enjoy full flavour?

After the hearty meal, dearie proposed for a walk at Esplanade. I was very interested to see how Father-in-law solves lantern riddles(灯谜) so we sped down at 9pm just to catch some before it ended at 10pm. Thank god we were in time and FIL solved quite a few tough ones. He solved more the day before though, 10+ and got tons of prizes. Not fantastic prices la, just some handphone accessories, but hey it’s for the lantern festival spirit! =D

He asked us to try the elementary questions but even those were too difficult for us. =( We saw mostly aunties and uncles solving and their vast knowledge really astounded me. My mouth was an “o” all long and yeah, I looked like a retard and felt like one. Even so, my eyes and ears were expanded to their largest possible size and I’m so in awe for all the different kinds of solutions!

Here’s a few..easier ones which I remembered. You can have a try! Do note each answer must come with explanations or else it’s not considered right wor!

1) 讲到钱, 说不出口
Guess a financial instrument

2) 后空翻
Guess an alphabet

3) 两人加一人, 可安天下
Guess a chinese character
Hint: 9 strokes

:
:
:
Scrolled down slowly for answers
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:

Answers:

1) 讲到钱, 说不出口
Guess a financial instrument

Answer is 提款卡!

Explanations:
讲到=提(到)
钱=款(项)
说不出口=卡(住了)

FIL solved this one! Eh he solved quite a few but I only remembered this. Heez.

2) 后空翻
Guess an alphabet

Answer: H

Explanations:
后 -> denotes BEHIND, so look at the 2nd word which is behind 后, i.e, 空
后 -> also denotes what comes AFTER, also means BELOW, so it leads us to 工 which is BELOW.
翻 -> Invert. After you invert 工, it gives us H.

3) 两人加一人, 可安天下
Guess a chinese character
Hint: 9 strokes

Answer: 奏/春

Ah…this is quite difficult to explain online.
Okie, I’ll try.

两 -> 二
加一 -> add one more horizontal stroke to the above, thus become 三
加一人 -> add a 人 on top of the 三, thus you get the TOP PART of 奏/春
可安天下 -> means you got the world, can denote as 天 or 日 to place it below. Dont ask me why it’s 日, they denote it this way.

Thus you can get 奏 or 春

There were much more interesting and complex ones, really intriguing. We’re going tomorrow with FIL and MIl again. =D

Hopefully I get to solve some. Heez.

I did solve 1 which FIL gave to me though. *blush*

方大同
Guess a word.
Hint: 6 strokes

:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:
:

方大同
Guess a word.
Hint: 6 strokes

Answer: 因
方 means a square. After you place a 大 in the square, then it becomes 因

Lol! I know lah, this is super easy…but at least I solved one. =P

In 灯谜, sometimes it takes more than good chinese to solve(I’m not implying my Chinese is good hor, dont misunderstand). Not only must you know the strokes of chinese characters, for some complex questions, you need to also know some chinese literature or culture. Coupled with your creativity and how good you link up things, then you will be able to solve. Sometimes you might get the wrong answers but nevermind, just keep trying! And work with the hints, they will help you to know whether you got the correct answer. Do keep in mind not all characters are being used to solve the riddle in the question. Some are there to mislead you. If 1 direction dont work, work on other directions.

I think Hui will be great in solving 灯谜! Would love to jio her tomorrow but her hubby just back yesterday. I think she would like to accompany him bah…

Leave a Reply

