Announcement

Our actual wedding day’s date will be changed from Oct 2009(a friday) to Aug 2009(a sunday). As for the exact date, I will update when the time’s nearer. But dont worry, the chinese date is not in the 7th ghost month. The chinese month is JUN actually. =)

The reason for the change is because I only tentatively choose the date in order to secure the reservation at Swissotel. It is quite a good date for wedding until I went to check out the morning timing when Jy reminded me timing is important too. After checking, I realised 7am-9am always 沖狗(my zodiac) for any day, which means it’s better to start the morning with the prayers, gate-crashing all that from 9am onwards. Otherwise it will create alot of inconveniences as I need to hide in the room for the timing which is inauspicious to me. But from 9am-11am, it’s not a good timing for prayers which we have to do. The best timing for everything is actually from 5am-7am. But again, I dont wish to wake up so damn early la!

I really had my eyes crossed as I surfed once again at mindcity. I feel it’s a really informative website where you can DIY with no costs. If you trust yourself enough, you can always pick a date yourself. Though, please prepare yourself with the basics first before you charge to challenge the world of 占卜神算 and fengshui. Click on any dates to your liking(e.g, nice number date like 09.09.09 or chinese date of 八月二十八日 or a weekend) after making sure that day

1) doesnt [沖] you, your husband/wife and preferably your family members.
2) [宜] for any occassion/event which you’re planning, e.g, 嫁娶
3) No [忌] for the occasion/event which you’re planning, e.g, 嫁娶

For example, an ideal date will look like this:

西元 2008-10-04 (星期六) 九月六日 (丁丑日)
[沖] 沖羊(辛未)煞東
[宜] 嫁娶 祭祀 祈福 求嗣 沐浴 出火 出行 拆卸 修造 動土 進人口 開市 交易 立券 入宅 移徙 安床 栽種 納畜 入殮 安葬 啟鑽 除服 成服
[忌] –

Whereby there’s no [忌] for any event.

After that, you can click on “當日總覽 當日時辰時局” to check the day’s auspicious timing.

The corresponding 當日時辰時局 for the above date is,

7am- 9am 戊辰時 沖狗 煞南 時沖戊戍 日殺 白虎
[宜]
[忌] 修造 動土 白虎須用 麒麟符制 否則 諸事不宜

9am-11am 己已時 沖豬 煞東 時沖己亥 三合 帝旺 玉堂 少微
[宜] 祈福 求嗣 訂婚 嫁娶 出行 求財 開市 交易 安床 修造 蓋屋 移徙 赴任
[忌]

11-13 庚午時 沖鼠 煞北 時沖庚子 天兵 天牢 喜神 日祿
[宜] 祈福 求嗣 訂婚 嫁娶 求財 開市 交易 安床
[忌] 上樑 蓋屋 入殮 赴任 修造 移徙 出行 詞訟

Therefore, for basic analysis or anyone who can read chinese, 7am-9am is an inauspicious hour for anything. A better timing, e.g for 嫁娶 will be from 9am to 1pm. Also, do take note of any zodiacs who 沖 at the specific hours. They’re required to stay away, in the room etc.

As for the other chim chim words or fengshui etc, please dont ask me because I dont understand either. =P

For our new date in Aug, it’s a sunday. And the timing works conveniently and clearly whereby 9am onwards will work great for us and everyone.

Im quite pleased for several reasons:
1) I dont have to wake up so early! HaHa!
2) My jiemeis, dearie’s xiongdis dont have to take leave on sunday(I think) and also dont have to wake up so early to fetch me. *See, I think so much for you all*
3) I dont have to pay more extras for photography/videography/makeup for services before 6am or 7am.

The only thing which makes me alittle sian is the banquet tables will be more expensive on a sunday. Each table costs around $60 more. Ouch! Though, Im glad even though there’s a price increment, a much better menu will be served. The main difference will be, there will be scallops!! And instead of sliced abalone, whole abalone will be served(although I dont know how big lah). I also preferred the dessert to be mango sago rather than some red bean paste or something. There are minor differences here and there lah, style of cooking etc but definitely for the better and not for worse. =) So you guys are in for a sumptuous treat. =D

I suddenly remembered WY mostly dont eat meat, sharkfins and might opt for a vegetarian menu. Hmm, why haven I seen any vegetarian menu in the contract? I’ll check it out with the banquet manager when I meet him to confirm the details dear. =)

I already had 1 disappointment coming as I know Li dear mostly cant make it for my wedding because she will be in Japan with her hubby on work. Their banquet is in dec 2009. Even if I did not change my banquet date in Oct, she also cant come because the normal superstitious saying is that one cant attend any subsequent red/white affairs within 3 months, especially when one is going to be a bride in honour. I heard her hubby’s boss is not very gracious to feel happy when his staff needs to take leave for his wedding. Instead, he’s pretty annoyed when he needs to take leave.

What a mean boss! It’s just once in a lifetime thing! Dont be so stingy!

The protocol states you need to confirm the number of banquet tables(that is, confirm attendance of all your guests) 3 months prior to the banquet date and usually around 30%(I think) of the invitations cards will be printed complimentary by the hotel. The others you have to print it yourself. Of course need to mail the guests or give them subsequently.

Since you need to give time to your guests to confirm attendance(around 20 days…you’ll know how tedious it is to confirm attendance when some friends dont have the habit to reply sms lor but yet assured you they will be there when you call personally. ZzZ) before you can confirm number of tables to the hotel(3months prior to banquet date),

Li, I calculate for you liao, in view of all the above. Would you be willing to fly back justttt around 2 weeks in advance to attend my banquet? Keke. And do accompany dear WY too, she’ll sure misses you as much as I do. *smooch smooch* Kekeke.

But anyhow, even if she cant make it, I would love to attend hers in Dec. I can attend liao since it’s more than 3 months apart from mine. Yay! And her mum wont be annoyed to see me liao, given old people’s superstitious. Haha. =P

Will be attending Huey’s wedding on 15th Feb 2009 at Orchid Country club too! Judging from the mass number of their relatives and friends, it will be such a GLORIOUS affair! Some time back, I chanced upon a stall selling lovely diamante tiaras at great prices. And I bought 2, 1 for Huey, 1 for myself. =D Did not buy for Li as I didnt know she so fast tie the knot! The typical “lightning marriage”.

Leave a Reply

